Jalil Anibaba vs. Chelsea FC

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. – The New England Revolution were defeated by English Premier League side Chelsea FC, 3-0, before a crowd of 27,329 in the 'Final Whistle on Hate' charity match at Gillette Stadium on Wednesday evening. Proceeds from the match, which are expected to reach $4 million, will be donated to 15 organizations dedicated to initiatives combating antisemitism, discrimination, and hate crimes.

Chelsea's Ross Barkley and Olivier Giroud were the goal scorers for the visitors. Barkley registered a brace with goals in the third and 62nd minutes, while Giroud found the back of the net with a headed shot in the 29th minute. All 21 Revolution players available for selection in tonight's friendly logged minutes, including Homegrown Player and Somerville, Mass. native Nicolas Firmino, who recorded 60 minutes at right back in his Gillette Stadium debut with the first team. Scott Caldwell played all 90 minutes in central midfield while Carles Gil wore the captain’s armband to start the contest, seeing 45 minutes of action on the night.

New England returns to Major League Soccer action on Saturday, May 18, when the club visits the Montreal Impact at Stade Saputo. The match kicks off at 1:00 p.m. ET on NBC Sports Boston, 98.5 The Sports Hub, and in Portuguese on 1260 AM Nossa Radio. 

New England Revolution 0, Chelsea FC 3
May 15, 2019 – Gillette Stadium (Foxborough, Mass.)


Referee: Nima Saghafi
Assistant Referees: Tom Felice (AR1), Amilkar Sicaju (AR2)
Fourth Official: Lorant Varg
Attendance: 27,329

Scoring Summary:
CFC – Ross Barkley 3'
CFC – Olivier Giroud 29'
CFC – Ross Barkley 62'

New England Revolution: Matt Turner (Brad Knighton 30' (Cody Cropper 60')); DeJuan Jones (Gabriel Somi 30'), Jalil Anibaba (Zachary Herivaux 60'), Andrew Farrell (Antonio Delamea 30'), Brandon Bye (Nicolas Firmino 30'); Scott Caldwell; Teal Bunbury (Cristian Penilla HT), Carles Gil © (Diego Fagundez HT), Wilfried Zahibo, Tajon Buchanan (Juan Agudelo HT); Juan Fernando Caicedo (Brian Wright HT)

Chelsea FC: Kepa Arrizabalaga (Willy Caballero HT (Robert Green 88'), Davide Zappacosta (Reece James 78'), David Luiz ©, Andreas Christensen, Marcos Alonso (Emerson HT), Ross Barkley (Trevoh Chalobah 78'), Jorginho, Matteo Kovacic ((Ruben Loftus-Cheek HT (Conor Gallagher 69')), Pedro, Olivier Giroud (Gonzalo Higuain HT), Eden Hazard (Willian HT)

Substitutes Not Used: Ike Ugbo