FOXBOROUGH, Mass. – New England Revolution II (11-12-4, 37 pts.) fell on Saturday night at North Texas SC (10-8-9, 39 pts.), 4-1. Justin Rennicks put New England ahead four minutes into the match before North Texas equalized six minutes later. The hosts added three second-half goals to secure the victory, including two from Bernard Kamungo.

Rennicks and Ryan Spaulding combined for the opening goal, exchanging passes down the left flank before the striker cut inside and fired a low shot into the bottom corner for New England’s fastest goal in team history. The hosts equalized six minutes later, with Edwin Munjoma pouncing on a loose ball in the box.

New England went up a man in the 24th minute when North Texas SC center back Mark Salas was sent off for denying an obvious goal scoring opportunity. Revolution II also had a penalty kick with the game knotted at 1-1. Damian Rivera scored, but the goal was disallowed for encroachment as the 18-year-old slipped on the shot, hitting the ball twice. Two minutes later, Kamungo put North Texas in front.

Four Revolution Academy products started the match for New England – Tyler Freitas, Noel Buck, Justin Rennicks, and Damian Rivera – as did current Academy midfielder Esmir Bajraktarevic, making his 10th professional appearance since joining the club in August. Fellow Academy products Meny Silva, Hikaru Fujiwara, and Colby Quiñones also featured in the match for New England as substitutes.

New England will close the USL League One regular season next Friday afternoon, making their second trip this month to face Toronto FC II. Kickoff is scheduled for 4:00 p.m. ET on ESPN+.

New England Revolution II 1, North Texas SC 4
October 16, 2021 – Choctaw Stadium (Arlington, Tex.)

  • New England Revolution II fell on the road at North Texas SC on Saturday, 4-1, shifting their record to 11-12-4 (37 points) on the year.
  • With 37 points through 27 games played, Revolution II remains above the playoff line in sixth place with one match remaining in the USL League One regular season.
  • Forward Justin Rennicks tallied his fifth goal of the season, scoring the quickest goal in Revolution history in the fourth minute of the contest. Five goals marks a new career high for Rennicks, who finished the night with three shots.
  • Defender Ryan Spaulding added his first assist of the season, and first since Sept. 19, 2020. Spaulding had five shots and two key passes offensively and five duels won, four recoveries, two interceptions, and two tackles defensively.
  • Defender Sean O’Hearn had team highs in recoveries (14), duels won (6), tackles (3), clearances (3), chances created (3), and interceptions (2) in a 90-minute effort at center back.
  • Midfielder Jake Rozhansky completed 64 of his 67 passes (95.5 percent) on the night, including three key passes.
  • Forward Edward Kizza set a new career high with six shots, including two on target.
  • Revolution II Head Coach Clint Peay made three changes to the Starting XI from New England’s last match on Oct. 16 at Greenville Triumph SC, with François Dulysse, Tyler Freitas, and Esmir Bajraktarevic starting in place of Collin Verfurth, Pierre Cayet, and Maciel, respectively.


Referee: Corbyn May.
Assistant Referees: Ken Mizuno (AR1); Jay Norris (AR2).
Fourth Official: Jason Guillen.
Attendance: 880
Weather: 81 degrees and clear.

Scoring Summary:
NE – Justin Rennicks 5 (Ryan Spaulding 1) 4’
NTX – Edwin Munjoma 3 (Kalil ElMedkhar 5) 10’
NTX – Bernard Kamungo 3 (Blaine Ferri 3) 57’
NTX – Gibran Rayo 7 (Dominick Hernandez 4) 83’
NTX – Bernard Kamungo 4 (Edwin Munjoma 1) 89’

Misconduct Summary:
NTX – Mark Salas (Red Card – Denying Obvious Goal Scoring Opportunity) 27’
NE – François Dulysse (Yellow Card – Bad Foul) 31’
NE – Jake Rozhansky (Yellow Card – Bad Foul) 80'

New England Revolution II: Joe Rice; Ryan Spaulding, Sean O’Hearn, François Dulysse (Hikaru Fujiwara 72’), Tyler Freitas; Esmir Bajraktarevic (Meny Silva 61’), Jake Rozhansky ©, Noel Buck (Colby Quiñones 84’), Damian Rivera; Justin Rennicks, Edward Kizza.

Substitutes Not Used: Yannik Oettl, Dennis Ramirez.

North Texas SC: Richard Sánchez; Collin Smith, Lucão, Mark Salas, Derek Waldeck ©; Edwin Munjoma, Kazu (Bernard Kamungo 45’), Blaine Ferri, Kalil ElMedkhar (Devin Benton 84’); Gibran Rayo (Gabriel Morais 90’+3), Dominick Hernandez (Rio Ramirez 90’+1).

Substitutes Not Used: Juan Carrera, Hope Avayevu, Michael Maldonado.