Damian Rivera goal celebration (2021 preseason)

Recap | Revs defeat LA Galaxy II, 2-1, in abbreviated preseason scrimmage

CARSON, Calif. – The New England Revolution defeated LA Galaxy II, 2-1, in a 60-minute scrimmage on the grounds of Dignity Health Sports Park in Carson, Calif. Midfielder Emmanuel Boateng recorded the opening goal in the 20th minute, beating several Galaxy defenders on the dribble for the unassisted score. Midfielder Damian Rivera tallied the game winner in the 42nd minute with a calm finish into the bottom-right corner, assisted by first-round MLS SuperDraft pick Edward Kizza.

The Revolution will conclude the 2021 preseason on Saturday, April 10 with a friendly against Los Angeles FC before returning to Foxborough in preparation for the regular season opener, Saturday, April 17 at Chicago Fire FC.

Match Notes:

  • New England defeated USL Championship side LA Galaxy II, 2-1, in a 60-minute scrimmage, played over two 30-minute halves.
  • Winger Emmanuel Boateng beat multiple Galaxy defenders for a goal in the 20th minute, his first tally as a member of the Revolution. Boateng joined New England as a free-agent signing in January.
  • Revolution Academy product Damian Rivera delivered the game-winning goal in the 42nd minute. Edward Kizza, the Revs’ first-round pick in the 2021 MLS SuperDraft, provided the assist.
  • Goalkeeper Earl Edwards Jr. saw his first competitive action since an arthroscopic knee procedure on March 10. He was replaced by Revolution II goalkeeper Joe Rice for the final 30 minutes, as Rice made debut appearance with the first team.
  • Emmanuel Boateng, Luis Caicedo, Scott Caldwell, A.J. DeLaGarza, Edward Kizza, Christian Mafla, and Connor Presley all played the full 60 minutes.

New England Revolution 2, LA Galaxy II 1
April 7, 2021 – Dignity Health Sports Park (Carson, Calif.)

Scoring Summary:
NE – Emmanuel Boateng (Unassisted) 20’
LA II - Goal 37
NE – Damian Rivera (Edward Kizza) 42’

New England Revolution Lineup: Earl Edwards Jr. (Joe Rice 30’); Christian Mafla, A.J. DeLaGarza, Henry Kessler (Collin Verfurth 30’), Connor Presley; Tajon Buchanan (Damian Rivera 30’), Scott Caldwell, Luis Caicedo, Emmanuel Boateng; Teal Bunbury (Justin Rennicks 30’), Edward Kizza