Eliot Jones
Keith Nordstrom

Revolution Academy goalkeeper Eliot Jones called in to U.S. Under-16 national team

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. – New England Revolution Academy goalkeeper Eliot Jones  (New Britain, Conn.— 2003) has been called in to the U.S. Under-16 Boys’ National Team for a training camp at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Fla. The camp begins on Wednesday, Sept. 12 and runs through Sept. 19.

Jones, 15, will be making his seventh appearance with the U.S. Youth National Team, and his third at the U-16 level, since joining the Revolution Academy. The goalkeeper is in the midst of his fourth season with the Revolution Academy and has made a combined 49 appearances, including 40 career starts. Jones opened the 2018-19 campaign by posting a shutout win against Empire United with the U-17s on Sept. 1. The New Britain, Conn. native has spent time at the U-19, U-17, and U-15 levels in his time with the Academy, and has also trained extensively with the first team.

U.S. U-16 BNT head coach Shaun Tsakiris has called up 36 players – all born in 2003 – for this age group’s fifth training camp of 2018. This group of players moved up from the U-14 level for 2018 and will spend two years with the U-16 BNT before moving on to the U-18 level. Previous U-16 camps this year included the first ever U.S. Men’s Youth National Team Summit in January, a domestic camp at the U.S. Soccer National Training Center in March, 15th Torneo delle Nazioni in April, and the most recent camp, a concurrent training camp at IMG Academy with the U-17 MNT.

Sixteen players are making their debut with the 2018-19 U-16 BNT cycle. Of the 36 players named to the roster, 34 currently play in the U.S. Soccer Development Academy.

U.S. Under-16 Boys National Team Roster by Position:

GOALKEEPERS (4): Anjan Chakravarti (LA Breakers FC; West Hollywood, Calif.), Eliot Jones (New England Revolution; New Britain, Conn.), Gavin Krenecki (Sacramento Republic FC; Fair Oaks, Calif.), Andre Zuluaga (Kendall SC; Miami, Fla.)

DEFENDERS (13): Adrian Aguilar (LA Galaxy; Los Angeles, Calif.), Prince Amponsah (New York City FC; Bronx, N.Y.), Edwin Arias (Barca Academy; Phoenix, Ariz.), Justin Che (FC Dallas; Frisco, Texas), Mauricio Cuevas (LA Galaxy; Los Angeles, Calif.), Mitchell Ferguson (Sporting Kansas City; Glen Carbon, Ill.), Jonathan Gomez (FC Dallas; Keller, Texas), Dante Huckaby (PhiladelphiaUnion; Wayne, Pa.), Alec Kenison (San Diego Surf; San Diego, Calif.), Eric Kinzner (Seattle Sounders FC; Tacoma, Wash.), Nico McMillan (Seattle Sounders FC; Seattle, Wash.), Casey Walls (San Jose Earthquakes; Mill Valley, Texas), Joseph Zalinsky (New York Red Bulls; Brick, N.J.)

MIDFIELDERS (9): Edison Azcona (Orlando City SC; Clermont, Fla.), Elton Chifamba (Crew SC Academy; Blacklick, Ohio), Caden Clark (Barca Academy; Medina, Minn.), Daniel Edelman (Players Development Academy; Warren, N.J.), Sota Kitahara (Seattle Sounders FC; Edmonds, Wash.), Daniel Leyva (Seattle Sounders FC; Burien, Wash.), Jack McGlynn (BW Gottschee Academy; Middle Village, N.Y.), Wilfredo Rivera (Orlando City SC; Fleming Island, Fla.), Tyler Taber (FC Metz; Bertrange, Luxembourg)

FORWARDS (10): Patrick Bohui (Philadelphia Union; West Chester, Pa.), Andres Cardenas (Weston FC; Doral, Fla.), Cade Cowell (San Jose Earthquakes; Ceres, Calif.), Selmir Miscic (Philadelphia Union; Royersford, Pa.), Alex Monis (Chicago Fire; Naperville, Ill.), Jonathan Perez (LA Galaxy; Pico Rivera, Calif.), Ricardo Pepi (FC Dallas; McKinney, Texas), Sam Sarver (Crew SC Academy; Beachwood, Ohio), Dante Sealy (FC Dallas; Frisco, Texas), Brandon Zelaya (De Anza Force; Redwood City, Calif.)