Portugal Announces Provisional 30-man Roster for World Cup and June 6 Match against Mexico in Foxborough

NEW YORK (Tuesday, May 13, 2014) – Portugal Head Coach Paulo Bento has announced the preliminary 30-man roster for the World Cup, as well as the international match against the Mexican National Team on Friday, June 6 (8:30 p.m. ET) at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Massachusetts.

The 2014 FIFA World Cup will mark Portugal’s sixth appearance in the world’s most important sporting event. Under the direction of Paulo Bento, the team boasts a powerful lineup that includes stars such as Real Madrid striker and FIFA Ballon D’Or winner Cristiano Ronaldo, Manchester United midfielder Nani, and Real Madrid defenders Pepe and Fabio Coentrão. Portugal was drawn into Group G of the World Cup where they will face Germany, Ghana and the United States.    

Mexico and Portugal have faced off twice, with a record of 1-0-1 in favor of “Seleção das Quinas.” The last meeting between the two ended in a 2-1 victory for Portugal during the 2006 FIFA World Cup in Germany.


Goalkeepers: Anthony Lopes (Olympique Lyonnais/FRA), Beto (Sevilla FC/SPA), Eduardo (SC Braga/POR), Rui Patricio (Sporting Clube/POR)

Defenders: André Almeida (SL Benfica/POR), Antunes (Málaga CF/SPA), Bruno Alves (Fenerbahçe SK/TUR), Fábio Coentrão (Real Madrid CF/SPA), João Pereira (Valencia CF/SPA), Neto (Zenit St. Petersburg/RUS), Pepe (Real Madrid CF/SPA), Ricardo Costa (Valencia CF/SPA), Rolando (Inter Milan/ITA)

Midfielders: André Gomes (SL Benfica/POR), João Mário (Vitória FC/POR), João Moutinho (AS Monaco/FRA), Miguel Veloso (Dynamo Kiev/UKR), Raul Meireles (Fenerbahçe SK/TUR), Rúben Amorim (SL Benfica/POR), William Carvalho (Sporting Clube/POR)

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF/SPA), Éder (SC Braga/POR), Hélder Postiga (SS Lazio/ITA), Hugo Almeida (Beşiktaş JK/TUR), Ivan Cavaleiro (SL Benfica/POR), Nani (Manchester United FC/ENG), Rafa (SC Braga/POR), Ricardo Quaresma (FC Porto/POR), Varela (FC Porto/POR), Vierinha (Vfl Wolfsburg/GER)

Head Coach: Paulo Bento