DDC Victory

TUCSON, Ariz. – The New England Revolution won the 2016 Desert Diamond Cup with a 1-0 win versus Columbus Crew SC on Saturday night at Kino North Stadium. Teal Bunbury scored his third goal in as many games to both clinch the club’s first ever Desert Diamond Cup title and earn the CARF International MVP award.

Bunbury opened the scoring for the Revolution in the 21st minute, polishing off his own rebound after Crew SC goalkeeper Steve Clark brushed aside his initial shot from the right side of the box. Bunbury finished the Desert Diamond Cup riding a three-game goal streak and tied Columbus’ Kei Kamara for the tournament lead in goals. Lee Nguyen led the breakout across midfield and slotted a through ball between a pair of Crew SC defenders to Bunbury to spark the scoring opportunity.

Goalkeeper Bobby Shuttleworth also put on one his finest performances of the preseason, capped off by a diving save in the 75th minute to keep Crew SC off the board and preserve his clean sheet.

With the regular season opener only one week away, the Revolution opted to use only six substitutions. Jay Heaps gave four field players – Andrew Farrell, Jose Goncalves, Gerson Koffie, Charlie Davies – full 90-minute shifts. Tonight’s match also featured the debut of trialist and former FC Dallas defender Je-Vaughn Watson, who logged 63 minutes before London Woodberry replaced him as a substitute.

New England Revolution 1, Columbus Crew SC 0

February 27, 2016 - Kino North Stadium (Tucson, Arizona)

Misconduct Summary:


New England Revolution Lineup: 

Bobby Shuttleworth, Chris Tierney (Donnie Smith 74’), Jose Goncalves, Andrew Farrell, Je-Vaughn Watson* (London Woodberry 63’), Kelyn Rowe (Juan Agudelo 77’), Gershon Koffie, Diego Fagundez (Michael Gamble* 89’), Lee Nguyen (Zachary Herivaux 83’), Teal Bunbury (Scott Caldwell 63’), Charlie Davies


** Unsigned Draft Pick

Columbus Crew SC Lineup:

Steve Clark, Waylon Francis, Gaston  Sauro, Michael Parkhurst, Harrison Afful (Justin Meram 62’), Tony Tchani, Wil Trapp, Federico Higuain (Ben Swanson 72’), Hector Jimenez, Ethan Finlay, Kei Kamara