Shalrie Joseph

Shalrie Joseph highlights list of new candidates for National Soccer Hall of Fame

Shalrie Joseph’s name is already permanently etched into the New England Revolution’s history books, and now it may soon be etched into the hallowed halls of the National Soccer Hall of Fame.

Joseph is eligible for selection as part of the Player ballot for the first time in 2021, and his storied MLS career makes him a prime candidate. A four-time MLS Best XI selection and a seven-time All-Star, Joseph was a dominant force during his 12-year MLS career. He spent parts of 11 seasons with the Revs and ranks first all-time in club history in games played (261, T-1st), games started (254), and minutes played (22,867), while also ranking top-10 in both goals (37) and assists (34).

Joseph currently serves as head coach of the Under-15 team in the Revolution Academy.

Also eligible on the Player ballot for the first time in 2021 is Jamar Beasley, who began his professional career with the Revolution in 1998, scoring three goals in 41 appearances. Beasley went on to build an illustrious career in the indoor game, and appears as a Hall of Fame candidate for his role on the U.S. Futsal National Team.

Several candidates with ties to the Revolution appear on the Veteran ballot, including Steve Ralston, who moves from the Player ballot to the Veteran ballot in 2021. The Revolution’s all-time assist leader joins the club’s all-time goal scorer on the ballot, as Taylor Twellman is once again eligible, as well.

Others who once played for the Revolution and appear on the Veteran ballot are Leonel Alvarez, Mike Burns, Raul Diaz Arce, Eduardo Hurtado, Brian Kamler, Carlos Llamosa, and Oscar Pareja. Also appearing on the Veteran ballot is current Revolution assistant coach Richie Williams.

Robert Kraft headlines those on the Builder ballot, alongside former Revolution head coaches Steve Nicol and Thomas Rongen, as well as former assistant general manager and technical director Joe Cummings.

The National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2021 will consist of three or four members from the 245 eligible candidates, with the induction ceremony scheduled for May 22 in Frisco, Texas. Click HERE for more information on the National Soccer Hall of Fame.