Wilfied Zahibo vs. Atlanta United FC
David Silverman

Recap | Revs fall to Atlanta United, 1-0, in Round One of Audi 2019 MLS Cup Playoffs

ATLANTA – The New England Revolution fell to Atlanta United FC, 1-0, in Round One of the Audi 2019 MLS Cup Playoffs before a crowd of 66,114 at Mercedes-Benz Stadium on Saturday afternoon. Atlanta's Franco Escobar scored the game's lone goal in the 70th minute, when he beat Revolution goalkeeper Matt Turner to the near post from the right side of the penalty area. The loss eliminates New England from MLS Cup contention, wrapping up a season that saw the club rebound from a 2-8-2 start with results in 19 of its final 22 regular-season games to claim the seventh seed in the Eastern Conference.

Despite recording more shots on target than Atlanta, including a flurry of chances in second-half stoppage time, New England couldn't find the back of the net in its first Audi MLS Cup Playoff appearance since 2015. Carles Gil, who was named the 2019 MLS Newcomer of the Year on Wednesday, paced the team with four chances created and three fouls won. In net, goalkeeper Matt Turner submitted five saves.

Sporting Director & Head Coach Bruce Arena coached his 50th career MLS Cup Playoff match today, which moves him into a tie with Sigi Schmid for most in league history. Arena's record with the Revolution across all competitions moves to 9-5-8, including an 8-4-8 record in MLS play, and an 8-3-8 mark in regular-season competition. 

New England Revolution 0, Atlanta United FC 1
October 19, 2019 – Mercedes-Benz Stadium (Atlanta, Ga.)

Revolution Eliminated from Audi MLS Cup Playoffs by Atlanta United FC

  • The Revolution were eliminated from MLS Cup contention with a 1-0 loss to Atlanta United FC on Saturday afternoon.  
  • New England's all-time record in the Audi MLS Cup Playoffs moves to 17-17-9.
  • The loss to Atlanta marks only the fourth time in New England's last 23 games – dating back to May 11 – that it has been defeated. It also marks the club's third loss in its last 12 away games during that same span.
  • New England's all-time record against Atlanta moves to 0-5-2 overall, including a 0-1-0 record in the MLS Cup Playoffs, and a 0-4-0 record in games played at Mercedes-Benz Stadium.

Arena Ties Schmid for Most MLS Postseason Games Coached

  • Sporting Director & Head Coach Bruce Arena coached the 50th postseason game of his MLS career on Saturday. That moves Arena into a tie with Sigi Schmid for most postseason games coached in league history.
  • Arena's all-time postseason record moves to 32-12-6 with the result. His 32 playoff wins remain the most in MLS history. 

Bunbury Eclipses 1,000 Career Postseason Minutes Played

  • Forward Teal Bunbury eclipsed 1,000 career postseason minutes played in the 72nd minute of today's contest.
  • Bunbury's postseason experience includes five MLS Cup Playoff appearances with Sporting Kansas City between 2011-13. With the Revolution, he owns seven postseason appearances, including two goals and two assists.
  • In 80 minutes of action in today's contest, Bunbury recorded a team-high four shots, two shots on target, one tackle, and a 100 percent passing accuracy percentage.

Revolution Starting XI Sees Two Changes from Regular Season Finale

·The Revolution's starting lineup saw two changes from the club’s last match on Oct. 6 at Atlanta United FC, with DeJuan Jones replacing Jalil Anibaba at left back, and Scott Caldwell replacing Luis Caicedo in central midfield.


Referee: Kevin Stott
Assistant Referees: Eric Weisbrod (AR1), Philippe Briere (AR2)
Fourth Official: Fotis Bazakos
Video Assistant Referee: Geoff Gamble
Attendance: 66,114
Weather: Indoors

Scoring Summary:
ATL – Franco Escobar (Ezequiel Barco) 70'

Misconduct Summary:
NE – Wilfried Zahibo (Yellow Card – Unsporting Behavior) 42'
ATL – Josef Martinez (Yellow Card – Simulation) 43'
ATL – Leandro Gonzalez Pirez (Yellow Card – Unsporting Behavior) 53'
ATL – Jeff Larentowicz (Yellow Card – Unsporting Behavior) 58'
NE – Antonio Delamea (Yellow Card – Unsporting Behavior) 76'

New England Revolution: Matt Turner; DeJuan Jones, Andrew Farrell, Antonio Delamea (Juan Agudelo 85'), Brandon Bye; Wilfried Zahibo (Diego Fagundez 80'), Scott Caldwell; Cristian Penilla, Gustavo Bou, Carles Gil ©; Teal Bunbury (Juan Fernando Caicedo 80')

Substitutes Not Used: Brad Knighton, Michael Mancienne, Jalil Anibaba, Luis Caicedo

Atlanta United FC: Brad Guzan; Leandro Gonzalez Pirez, Michael Parkhurst ©, Franco Escobar; Julian Gressel, Jeff Larentowicz, Emerson Hyndman (Florentin Pogba 65') , Darlington Nagbe; Justin Meram (Hector Villalba 65'), Ezequiel Barco (Mo Adams 88'); Josef Martinez

Substitutes Not Used: Alec Kann, Pity Martinez, Eric Remedi, Eric Vazquez