All-STar Voting - Diego - FIFA 13

1 Diego FIFA '13 goal = 1 Diego MLS All-Star vote

NEW YORK (Wednesday, July 3, 2013) – Major League Soccer and Electronic Arts Inc. (NASDAQ: EA) today launched the start of the groundbreaking AT&T MLS All-Star “In the Game” Challenge, giving fans the opportunity to vote one forward into the 2013 AT&T MLS All-Star Game by scoring goals in EA SPORTSTM FIFA Soccer 13 on the Xbox 360® videogame and entertainment system, PlayStation®3 computer entertainment system and PC. This is the first time in any professional sports league that fans will be using a videogame to determine the outcome of a vote for an All-Star game.

From now until July 10 at 12 p.m. ET, fans around the world who play FIFA Soccer 13 can score as many goals as possible with their favorite MLS All-Star forward candidate, with one goal equaling one vote. The player with the most votes on July 10 will be named the AT&T MLS All-Star ‘In the Game’ Forward and will occupy the final forward spot on the All-Star Fan XI. Through general voting via, text message and Twitter, 10 players were selected to the All-Star Fan XI, which will be unveiled on July 7 on ESPN during halftime of the Chicago Fire-Sporting Kansas City match (3 p.m. ET)..

“We are excited to team up with the EA SPORTS FIFA franchise to break new ground in the all-star voting process,” said Howard Handler, Chief Marketing Officer, MLS. “One of the things that's distinctive about MLS is our fan-driven culture.  We're eager to empower the millions of FIFA fans with The Challenge.”

“The AT&T MLS All-Star ‘In the Game’ Challenge exemplifies how we’re deepening the connection between the game of FIFA and the real world of soccer,” said Jamie McKinlay, VP Marketing, EA SPORTS. “With this new and innovative All-Star voting method, our fans can play our game, and for the first time ever, impact a real-world match. This is an incredibly exciting way for our fans to show their support for their favorite MLS player and have a say in who makes the All-Star Fan XI.”

The 26 players eligible to be voted the AT&T MLS All-Star ‘In the Game’ Forward include:

  • Diego Fagundez (NE) 
  • Claudio Bieler (KC)
  • Adam Jahn (SJ)
  • Tristan Bowen (CHV)
  • Eddie Johnson (SEA)
  • Deshorn Brown (COL) 
  • Robbie Keane (LA)
  • Will Bruin (HOU) 
  • Sebastien Le Toux (PHI)
  • Edson Buddle (COL) 
  • Jack McInerney (PHI)
  • Kenny Cooper (DAL) 
  • Darlington Nagbe (POR)
  • Marco Di Vaio (MTL) 
  • Dominic Oduro (CLB)
  • Landon Donovan (LA) 
  • Lionard Pajoy (DC)
  • Robert Earnshaw (TOR) 
  • Blas Perez (DAL)
  • Fabian Espindola (NY) 
  • Chris Rolfe (CHI)
  • Alvaro Saborio (RSL)
  • Thierry Henry (NY)  
  • Camilo Sanvezzo (VAN)
  • Federico Higuain (CLB)
  • Chris Wondolowski (SJ)