Revolution logo generic DL

Revolution unveil protected list ahead of Wednesday’s MLS Expansion Draft

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. – The New England Revolution today unveiled the club’s official protected list ahead of Wednesday’s MLS Expansion Draft. Ten of the 11 players that started for the club in MLS Cup on Sunday will not be eligible to be selected in the Expansion Draft, including MLS MVP finalist Lee Nguyen, Designated Player Jermaine Jones and Chris Tierney, who scored the Revs’ only goal against the Galaxy on Sunday.

The following 11 players have been protected by the club: goalkeeper Bobby Shuttleworth, defenders Kevin Alston, Andrew Farrell, Jose Goncalves and Chris Tierney, midfielders Jermaine Jones, Daigo Kobayashi, Lee Nguyen and Kelyn Rowe and forwards Teal Bunbury and Charlie Davies.

In addition to those 11 players midfielder Scott Caldwell is not eligible to be taken in the Expansion Draft as a Homegrown Player. Additionally, the Revolution have completed trades with both expansion clubs – New York City FC and Orlando City SC – that will assure that Diego Fagundez will not be selected in the Expansion Draft, allowing him to return to the Revolution in 2015.

All other players on the Revolution roster are now available for selection by either NYC FC or Orlando City in Wednesday’s Expansion Draft.

The MLS Expansion Draft will see the two newest MLS clubs – New York City FC and Orlando City SC – add to their rosters by each selecting 10 players from the other 18 MLS clubs. The draft, which will be streamed live on, will be held on Wednesday, Dec. 10 at 2 p.m. ET. Teams may not lose more than two players in the expansion draft and once a team has a player claimed from its unprotected list, it can move another player from its unprotected to protected list. For a complete list of the expansion draft rules, please click here.