Protected list

Revs protect 11 ahead of Wednesday’s Expansion Draft

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. – The New England Revolution protected 11 players ahead of the 2011 MLS Expansion Draft on Wednesday, Nov. 23, when league newcomer Montreal Impact will select 10 players in the draft. Current MLS teams can lose no more than one player from their rosters in the draft. Per league rules, the Revolution is required to protect three international players.

Montreal will reveal its 10 selections in the 2011 MLS Expansion Draft on Wednesday afternoon at 3 p.m. ET on

The Revolution’s 11 protected players are:

  • Kevin Alston
  • Benny Feilhaber
  • Shalrie Joseph
  • Rajko Lekic
  • Stephen McCarthy
  • Sainey Nyassi
  • Matt Reis
  • Bobby Shuttleworth
  • A.J. Soares
  • Chris Tierney
  • Monsef Zerka

Additionally, Diego Fagundez is also automatically protected because of his Home Grown status and he is unavailable to Montreal.

Overall, 15 Revolution players are among the group of exposed players from which Montreal will select.

The New England players eligible for selection by Montreal are:

  • Darrius Barnes
  • Zak Boggs
  • Milton Caraglio
  • Ryan Cochrane
  • Franco Coria
  • Kheli Dube
  • Ryan Guy
  • Ryan Kinne
  • Alan Koger
  • Otto Loewy
  • Kenny Mansally
  • Tim Murray
  • Pat Phelan
  • Zack Schilawski
  • Andrew Sousa

Each current MLS club protected 11 players from their 2011 roster. Generation adidas players who did not graduate at the end of the 2011 season and Home Grown players are automatically protected and do not count against a team’s 11 protected roster spots. Designated Players with a no trade clause in their contract must be protected by clubs.