Revs protect 11 ahead of Expansion Draft

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. – The New England Revolution protected 11 players ahead of the 2010 MLS Expansion Draft on Wednesday, Nov. 24, when league newcomers Portland and Vancouver will select 10 player apiece in the 10-round draft. Current MLS teams can lose a maximum of two players, and each team can pull back an exposed player after one of their players is taken. 

The Revolution protected:

  • D Kevin Alston
  • D Darrius Barnes
  • M Shalrie Joseph
  • M Kenny Mansally
  • M Sainey Nyassi (Intl.)
  • M Marko Perović (Intl.)
  • D Emmanuel Osei (Intl.)
  • GK Matt Reis
  • F Zack Schilawski
  • GK Bobby Shuttleworth
  • M/D Chris Tierney

Additionally, Homegrown player Diego Fagundez is also automatically protected. 

The New England player eligible for selection by Portland and Vancouver are:

  • M Zak Boggs
  • GK Preston Burpo
  • M Nico Colaluca
  • F Kheli Dube
  • D Cory Gibbs
  • M Jason Griffiths (Intl.)
  • M Roberto Linck
  • GK Tim Murray
  • M Pat Phelan
  • D Seth Sinovic
  • M Khano Smith
  • F Ilija Stolica (Intl.)

The Revolution had to protect at least three international players, as the 2010 Expansion Draft rules indicated that teams must protect at least two players fewer than their international player total. 

Representatives from all 18 MLS clubs will participate in an Expansion Draft teleconference which will be streamed live on on Wednesday beginning at 1:45 p.m. ET.  

Each current MLS club protected 11 players from their 2010 roster. Generation adidas players (who did not graduate at the end of the 2010 season) and Homegrown players were automatically protected and did not count against a team’s 11 protected roster spots. Designated Players with a no trade clause in their contract must be protected.  MLS Clubs may lose no more than two players from their 2010 roster during the Expansion Draft.

Through the Expansion Priority Draft, Portland earned the first selection in the Expansion Draft. 

Click here for a full listing of available players on